Taylor Swift’s “Midnights”


Delaney Stonewall, Contributor '25

Taylor Swift’s New Album

Taylor Swift is a widely known, 32-year-old “superstar”, who is set to release her 10th studio album, Midnights, on the 21st of October. She announced the release of Midnights when she was accepting an award, for “All Too Well (10-minute version)(Taylor’s Version)”, at the MTV Video Music Awards. Since then, Swift has been dropping teasers and hints about the tracks. She had even started a TikTok series called, “Midnights Mayhem with Me”, in which she named a track title for each video.



During Taylor’s final Midnights Mayhem with Me TikTok she revealed the name of the fourth track. Track 4, ‘Snow on the Beach’, featuring none other than Lana Del Rey. This sent both Taylor Swift fans and Lana Del Rey fans reeling. In an Instagram video posted to Swift’s page, she touches on the meaning behind the track. “The song is about falling in love with someone at the same time as they’re falling in love with you. Sort of in this, cataclysmic faded moment where you realize someone feels exactly the same way that you feel at the same moment,” Swift stated. “And you’re kind of looking around going like, ‘Wait, is this real?’ Kind of like it would be if you were to see snow falling on the beach.” In this video, Swift also notes how excited she was to work with Lana Del Rey, who she explains to be “one of the best musical artists ever.”


The Concept

“We lie awake in love and in fear, in turmoil and in tears. We stare at walls and drink until they speak back. We twist in our self-made cages and pray that we aren’t — right this minute — about to make some fateful life-altering mistake,” Swift wrote in an announcement of Midnights. She then goes on to explain that, “This is a collection of music written in the middle of the night, a journey through terrors and sweet dreams. The floors we pace and the demons we face. For all of us who have tossed and turned and decided to keep the lanterns lit and go searching – hoping that just maybe, when the clock strikes twelve … we’ll meet ourselves.” She describes the album as 13 stories of sleepless nights scattered throughout her life.


What to Expect

The album cover of Midnights has already been released and is available for pre-order. The album cover features a close of the artist’s face. She’s wearing glittery blue eye shadow and holding a lit lighter near her face. In addition to the album cover, there were three new special edition covers that were on sale for one week after the announcement. They all have a similar aesthetic to the first, but they each depict Swift doing different things. Such as sitting on the phone or laying on a piano bench. Swift also revealed that the back of each cover can be put together to create a clock. Target will also be releasing a Deluxe version of Midnights. This record, which is called the “Lavender Version,” includes a bonus track and two remixes. You can expect a “special very chaotic surprise” at 3 a.m. EST on the day of Midnights’ release. The music video for track 3, ‘Anti-Hero’ at 8 a.m. EST, and then lyric videos for the songs on YouTube later that night.


The Track List

1. Lavender Haze

2. “Maroon”

3. “Anti-Hero”

4. “Snow on the Beach” feat. Lana Del Ray

5. “You’re On Your Own, Kid”

6. “Midnight Rain”

7. “Question…?”

8. “Vigilante S**t”

9. “Bejeweled”

10. “Labyrinth”

11. “Karma”

12. “Sweet Nothing”

13. “Mastermind”