Boys soccer ends great season with Sectionals run

Cody Pomeranz

By Jules Cantor, ’11, Sports Editor

The CCDS boys soccer team brought a 10-6 record into their sectional finals match with Dayton Christian. The Indians had defeated Mariemont on October 24 on junior Robbie Pierce’s game-winning goal, and their confidence was peaking at the right time. Unfortunately, Dayton Christian proved to be too formidable of an opponent, defeating the Indians 4-0. However disappointing the loss, overall it was a very successful year for the boys soccer program.

Led  by senior captains J. R. Strubbe, Fabrizio Aguirre, Jessup Smith, and Isaac Guttman, the Indians finished 10-7 and 4-3 in Miami Valley Conference play. According to Head Coach Greg Hirschauer, the team’s goal coming into the season was to “defend our home turf.” The Indians did this quite successfully, posting a 7-1 home record this season. Along with the captains, seniors Nick Brown, Brian Cofer, Joey Fritz, Rameez Khan, and Fletcher Pease stepped up to play huge roles for the Indians this year, as Brown and Fritz were the second and third leading scorers on the team respectively. Junior Ryan Galloway was remarkable in the goal, recording six shutouts on the season.

Although the Indians had so many standout performers, Coach Hirschauer explained that “CCDS boys soccer exemplifies a true team. They all contribute in different ways at different times, both in matches and practices … seniors, especially captains, have been the primary reason for unselfish team attitude, and juniors, sophomores, and a couple of freshmen also contribute.” This team mentality was the key all season to the Indians’ success in big games. On August 31, the squad traveled to Roger Bacon and took down the Spartans by a score of 3-1. On September 12, the Indians defeated Madeira, 1-0. The win brought the team’s city ranking up to #6 in the Cincinnati polls.

Although the seniors’ careers have come to an end, the future looks bright for the soccer team. With a team of 32 boys, the second largest in Hirschauer’s coaching career, there is certainly abundant talent returning. Juniors Galloway, Pierce, George Drew, and Baldur Tangvald should be fixtures in the starting lineup next year, and sophomores Brad Hammoor, Tyler Spaeth, and Dane Isburgh should step up in their junior year. Although next year will not necessarily be a rebuilding year, it will certainly be tough to replace the leadership presented by the Class of 2010 seniors who, according to Hirschauer, led “the most fun team I’ve ever coached.”

Header photo of Jessup Smith by Ilana Habib.